türkce
english
deutsch
COVER - Kaptan June Haimoff- Portrait by Barbara Trottnow

Trailer

order

english with german
and turkish subtitles

Length: 40 min.

© 2013

Kaptan June


Portrait by
Barbara Trottnow

Camera & Post:
Jonas Trottnow

Editing:
Armin Riegel

Music:
Martin Lejeune

June Haimoff lives since the mid-eighties in Dalyan (Turkey) and is involved there in the protection of endangered sea turtles. When on their nesting beach a hotel should be built, she launched a global campaign, successfully, the hotel was not built and the Iztuzu beach is now part of a Special Protected Area.

On site they all call her ‘Kaptan June '. Before the Englishwoman stayed in Dalyan, she sailed with her boat through the Mediterranean. In December 2012, she celebrated her 90th birthday, but full of energy she continues to fight for the protection of the environment. Three years ago she set up a foundation, which is committed to preserve the natural habitat of sea turtles and to protect them from the effects of tourism. Since every year more and more tourists come to the beach. Most of them are day-trippers, intent on seeing some supposedly untouched piece of nature. The number of boats that offer trips to the ‘Turtle Beach' has grown constantly. Kaptan June's Foundation now offers all captains to provide the propellers of their boats with a kind of protective cage so the turtles are not injured.

Barbara Trottnow knows June Haimoff for 22 years, from the material collected since that time and several long interviews a personal portrait is created, which appreciates her engagement. The film is the first module of a cross-media project comes with different media and from different points of view on how negative consequences of tourism can be limited.
[next page]

In 1984 June sold her boat and spent three summers in a hut on the beach. She calls that time the best days of her life. Then she was the only foreigner, the other huts belonged to locals. In order not to disrupt the upcoming tourism, the huts were banned, and June moved to Dalyan, about 10 km away. She brought her beach hut with her and put it in her garden. But a few years ago the hut was returned to the beach and became a museum where Kaptan June’s story is told. There volunteers also inform about current problems. By selling souvenirs, the Kaptan June Sea Turtle Conservation Foundation’ raises money for its projects.

With the help of the media, Kaptan June, conservationists from around the world and some locals have prevented building on the beach, in the late eighties. Today, the beach is closed at night, so the turtles can lay their eggs undisturbed. And there is only a small café on each side of the beach. But instead, the building boom began in the nearby Dalyan. When June came, only a few fishermen and cotton farmers lived there. Today Dalyan is one of the most famous tourist spots in Turkey.

June is not satisfied by the protective measures. For her, there are now far too many sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach. This restricts the area where the turtles preferably lay their eggs. She is particularly shocked about the boat trips where turtles are fed in order to show them to the tourists at close range.
[next page]

Kaptan June Haimoff - Huette am IZTUZU Strand Dalyan - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion Kaptan June Haimoff Portrait Huette am IZTUZU Strand Dalyan - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion
Kaptan June Haimoff - Alte Fundamente Hotel Bau IZTUZU Strand - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion

When Barbara Trottnow 1991 first came to Dalyan, an abandoned excavation could be seen on the beach yet. A hotel with 600 beds was planned, a Turkish-German construction project, supported by German development aid. June played an essential part in ensuring that the hotel was not built. But the beach never returned to the unspoiled state it had been before. The foundations were filled in and now serve as a car park.

In 2002 Barbara Trottnow filmed in Dalyan the documentary "Kadir – the cotton farmer“, where June also gave an interview. Kadir saw no future in growing organic cotton and started ferrying tourists to the beach, who wanted to see the ‘rescued paradise'. In other films, a book and an interactive website, the author will indicate the changes tourism has brought to a place, where many things already were done right, but it nevertheless needs to be protected further.

The focus of this film, however, is on June Haimoff, who describes impressively, what happened to her when she watched a turtle laying eggs, and how fascinating she found this beach from the very first moment. And she tells, which ideas she has for the future.

Soroptimist International Club of Mainz supported the film.

Additional Info:
Kaptan June's Foundation

1 / 3

türkce
english
deutsch
Filme
_
Zuckmayer
_
Kaptan June
_
Deutsch
_
Emine
_
Purpur
_
Kadir
_
Teppich
_
Katharina
_
COVER - Kaptan June Haimoff- Portrait von Barbara Trottnow

Trailer

bestellen

Englisch mit deutschen
und türkischen Untertiteln

Länge: 40 min.

© 2013

Kaptan June


Portrait von
Barbara Trottnow

Bildgestaltung:
Jonas Trottnow

Schnitt:
Armin Riegel

Musik:
Martin Lejeune

June Haimoff lebt seit Mitte der 80 Jahre in Dalyan (Türkei) und engagiert sich dort für den Schutz der vom Aussterben bedrohten Meeresschildkröten. Als an ihrem Niststrand ein Hotel gebaut werden sollte, startete sie eine weltweite Kampagne, mit Erfolg, das Hotel wurde nicht gebaut und der Iztuzu Strand ist heute Teil eines Sonderschutzgebiets.

Vor Ort nennen sie alle ‚Kaptan June’. Bevor die Engländerin in Dalyan blieb, war sie mit ihrem Boot durchs Mittelmeer gefahren. Im Dezember 2012 feierte sie ihren 90. Geburtstag, aber voller Energie kämpft sie weiter für den Schutz der Umwelt. Vor drei Jahren hat sie eine Stiftung gegründet, die sich dafür einsetzt, den natürlichen Lebensraum der Meeresschildkröten zu erhalten und sie vor den Auswirkungen des Tourismus zu schützen. Denn jedes Jahr kommen mehr Touristen an den Strand, meist nur für einen Tag, um ein Stück vermeintlich unberührter Natur zu sehen. Die Zahl der Boote, die Ausflüge an den ‚Schildkrötenstrand’ anbieten, ist ständig gewachsen. Kaptan June’s Stiftung bietet nun allen Kapitänen an, die Propeller ihrer Boote mit einer Art Schutzkäfig zu versehen, damit die Schildkröten nicht verletzt werden.

Barbara Trottnow kennt June Haimoff seit 22 Jahren, aus dem seither gesammelten Material und mehreren langen Interviews ist ein persönliches Portrait entstanden, das ihr Engagement würdigt. Der Film ist der erste Baustein eines Crossmedia Projekts, das mit unterschiedlichen Medien und aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln darauf eingeht, wie negative Folgen von Tourismus begrenzt werden können. [nächste Seite]

1984 verkaufte June ihr Boot und lebte drei Sommer lang in einer Hütte am Strand. Das sei die beste Zeit in ihrem Leben gewesen, erzählt sie. Damals war sie die einzige Ausländerin, die anderen Hütten gehörten Einheimischen. Um den beginnenden Tourismus nicht zu stören, wurden die Hütten verboten, und June zog in das 10 km entfernte Dalyan. Ihre Hütte nahm sie mit und stellte sie in ihrem Garten auf. Aber vor wenigen Jahren kehrte die Hütte an den Strand zurück und wurde ein Museum, in dem die Geschichte von Kaptan June erzählt und über die aktuellen Probleme informiert wird. Durch den Verkauf von Souvenirs sammelt die ‚Kaptan June’s Stiftung zum Schutz der Meeresschildkröten’ Geld für ihre Projekte.

Mit Hilfe der Medien haben Kaptan June, Naturschützer aus aller Welt und einige Einheimische Ende der 80er Jahre verhindert, dass am Strand gebaut wird. Heute ist der Strand nachts gesperrt, damit die Schildkröten ungestört ihre Eier ablegen können. Und es gibt nur ein kleines Café an jeder Seite des Strandes. Aber dafür setzte der Bauboom im nahe gelegenen Dalyan an. Als June kam, lebten dort nur wenige Fischer und Baumwollbauern. Heute ist Dalyan einer der bekanntesten Touristenorte in der Türkei.

June reichen die Schutzmaßnahmen nicht aus. Für sie stehen am Strand inzwischen viel zu viele Liegen und Sonnenschirme und schränken den Bereich ein, in dem die Schildkröten ihre Eier ablegen können. Besonders empört ist June über die Bootstouren, auf denen Schildkröten gefüttert werden, um sie den Touristen aus der Nähe zu zeigen. [nächste Seite]

Kaptan June Haimoff - Huette am IZTUZU Strand Dalyan - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion Kaptan June Haimoff Portrait Huette am IZTUZU Strand Dalyan - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion
Kaptan June Haimoff - Alte Fundamente Hotel Bau IZTUZU Strand - Barbara Trottnow Medienproduktion

Als Barbara Trottnow 1991 zum ersten Mal nach Dalyan kam, waren am Strand noch die Überreste einer Baugrube zu sehen. Ein Hotel mit 600 Betten war geplant, ein türkisch-deutsches Bauprojekt, gefördert mit Geldern aus der deutschen Entwicklungshilfe. Das Hotel wurde nicht gebaut, aber so unberührt wie vorher wurde der Strand nie wieder. Die Baugrube wurde zugeschüttet und dient heute als Parkplatz.

2002 drehte Barbara Trottnow in Dalyan den Film „Kadir – der Baumwollbauer“, in dem June auch ein Interview gibt. Kadir sah im Anbau von Ökobaumwolle keine Zukunft und begann, Touristen das ‚gerettete Paradies’ zu zeigen. In weiteren Filmen, einem Buch und einer interaktiven Website wird die Autorin aufzeigen, welche Veränderungen der Tourismus gebracht hat, an einem Ort, wo vieles richtig gemacht wurde, den es dennoch weiterhin zu schützen gilt.

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Films aber steht June Haimoff, die eindrücklich beschreibt, was mit ihr geschah, als sie einer Schildkröte beim Eierlegen zuschaute, und wie sehr sie dieser Strand vom ersten Augenblick an faszinierte. Und sie erzählt, welche Ideen sie für die Zukunft hat.

Der Film wurde ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung von Soroptimist International, Club Mainz.

Zusätzliche Infos:
Kaptan June's Stiftung

1 / 3